"wtf? Greg Giraldo died today.."
I didn't know how to react. I kind of didn't make any sound the whole trip home. Was I in shock?
Greg Giraldo was a comedian. He was featured on all of the Comedy Central Roasts and has a few stand up routines. He was one of the best working comics of our time. Unfortunatly he wasn't as known as he should have been. He did have his following though. Greg was the highlight of all the roasts for me. I would always wait for his moment in the spot light and kill myself with laughter. He didn't care what he said. He understand the meaning behind a roast. He was ruthless, vile and goddamned hilarious. His timing and delivery was spot on and his wits were sharper then a Mircical Blade.
Now, I am never an emotional person but just over a minute ago I started crying a bit. I know it's a celebrity that I have never met but for some reason, this hits me so hard. Even as I sit here listening to his stand up, my teary eyes are overshadowed by laughter. Is it odd that I am this upset over someone I have never met? I feel weird for crying. I feel obsessive. It's just the idea of next years roast, I don't have anyone to look forward to. It sounds selfish but he was the highlight. I feel a tad empty. I think a part of it to is how unfair it is that these talented people are being taken from us. They are extremely nice people from what the masses say. It just seems so fucking unfair that there are murders who are going free and continueing their lives and then this talented man who made many people happy is taken from us. FUCK!!! I am still in disbelief right now, but every time I see the headline it shocks me again.
Greg was my inspiration. When we did the roast for my good friend Dave, he was always in the back of my mind when I wrote my jokes. He made me want to do insult comedy. I even thought of trying my turn at Yuk Yuks on amature night.
He was awesome.
ugh this sucks...
R.I.P. Greg. You are missed by many, many people.
He had amazing stuff!! He will live on!! =D Hope you feel better after writing this... *Hugz*
ReplyDelete